Faculty of Arts and Letters

Faculty of Arts and Letters

Degree Programs

Contact Information

Faculty of Arts and Letters (1896)

The Faculty of Arts and Letters, which used to be the Faculty of Philosophy and Letters, is UST’s most diverse tertiary academic unit, offering thirteen (13) bachelor’s degree programs, housed in nine (9) departments. It has produced National Artists, outstanding media practitioners, noted philosophers, linguists, and historians, among other professionals.

Contact Information

The Faculty of Arts and Letters has a virtual office and one-stop-shop portal for all stakeholders’ needs. Visit UST AB Virtual Office to interact with the members of the AB community.

Vision & Mission


Research Journals

Vision & Mission


Communication and Media Studies

Economics (University-Level)

English (University-Level)

History (University-Level)

Interdisciplinary Studies

Literature (University-Level)

Modern Languages (University-Level)

Philosophy (University-Level)

Political Science (University-Level)

Sociology (University-Level)



Notable Alumni


Center of Excellence in Philosophy

Center of Development in Communication

Center of Development in Journalism

Level IV Accreditation (BA Economics | BA Legal Management | BA Literature | BA Philosophy)

Level III Accreditation (BA Asian Studies | BA Behavioral Science | BA Communication | BA Journalism | BA Political Science | BA Sociology)

Notable Alumni


Student Organizations

Patron Saint


  • St. Thomas More Lecture

Student Organizations

  • AB Debate Parliament
  • Artistang Artlets
  • Artlets Economics Society
  • Asian Studies Society
  • Behavioral Science Society
  • Communication Arts Students Association
  • Concilium Philosophiae
  • History Society
  • Legal Management Society
  • Literary Society
  • Pax Romana – AB Unit
  • Red Cross Youth Council – AB Unit
  • Rotaract Club – AB Unit
  • The Political Science Forum
  • UST Chorus of Arts and Letters
  • UST English Language Studies Society
  • UST Journalism Society
  • UST Sociological Society

Patron Saint

St. Thomas More


Rev. Fr. George Phe Mang, O.P.,

Department Chairpersons and Program Coordinators

Assoc. Prof. Carlos L. Manapat, PhD,
Chair, Economics

Asst. Prof. Abigail T. Pagalilauan, MHist, MTS,
Chair, Modern Languages

Asst. Prof. John Manuel R. Kliatchko, PhD,
Chair, Interdisciplinary Studies

Assoc. Prof. Jovito V. Cariño, PhD,
Chair, Philosophy

Asst. Prof. Dennis C. Coronacion, PhD,
Chair, Political Science

Mr. Felipe F. Salvosa II, MA,
Coordinator – Journalism

Asst. Prof. Joselito D. delos Reyes, PhD,
Coordinator – Creative Writing

Mr. Jan Michael P. Denila, MPS,
Coordinator – Asian Studies

Asst. Prof. Alain Jomarie G. Santos, MBA,
Coordinator – Legal Management

Faculty Council

Prof. Marilu R. Madrunio, PhD,
Chair (Ex-Officio)

Rev. Fr. George Phe Mang, O.P.,
Member (Ex-Officio)

Assoc. Prof. Emmanuel Batoon, PhD,

Asst. Prof. Antonio M. Chua, Ll. B.,

Asst. Prof. Josephine A. Placido, MA,

Asst. Prof. Ma. Zenia R. Rodriguez, MEM,
Secretary (Ex-Officio)


Asst. Prof. Rhodora Lynn L. Tababa, MA


Assoc. Prof. Arlene D. Calara, PhD


Asst. Prof. Analiza A. Yanga, MHist


Prof. Franz Giuseppe F. Correz, PhD


Mr. John Paulo Q. Herrera

Pedagogical Lead

Asst. Prof. Louie Benedict Ignacio, PhD

Student Welfare and Development

Support Staff

Ms. Viveca Jane V. Deocadiz

Office Secretary

Ms. Maria Leticia A. Cabral

Office Clerk

Mr. Ernesto A. Lacap

Office Clerk

Mr. Ronald S. Manalastas

Office Clerk

Mr. Charles Bryan Manuel D. Mateo

Office Clerk

Ms. Rasel G. Namora

Office Clerk

Ms. Rhiolyn Q. Valeriano

Office Clerk

Ms. Maria Catherine B. Zaldivar

Office Clerk

Mr. Jonas A. Camimo

Computer Technician

Mr. Rodablas P. Nicolas

Computer Technician

Mr. Richard A. Silva

Audio-Visual Room Technician


© Copyright 2020 . UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMAS. All Rights reserved.


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Youtube