Dean Dacanay installed as new President of nat’l pharmacists association

Professor Aleth Therese L. Dacanay, PhD, Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy, was installed as the 25th President of the Philippine Pharmacists Association, Inc. (PPHA) becoming only the second Thomasian leader of the country’s premier pharmacist association after Prof. Jose B. Gallardo (1962-1964). Dacanay, who was installed on June 25, 2023, will serve a three-year term ending in 2026.

In her inaugural address, Dacanay stressed the importance of unity and solidarity that will necessitate “the involvement of every officer and member of the association….Everyone has an important role to play here and our goal must always be for the good of the association.” Anchoring her leadership on the actions Lead, Empower, and Innovate, Dacanay expressed excitement for the next three years, during which PPHA is expected to maximize its existing and future partnerships with stakeholders to advance the cause of pharmacists.

No stranger to leadership roles in professional associations, Dacanay served as President of the Philippine Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (PACOP) and serves as the Chair of the Technical Panel for Pharmacy of the Commission on Higher Education. She also serves in the Continuing Professional Development Council for Pharmacy of the Professional Regulation Commission. At UST, she has served as Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy since 2015 and has led the Faculty’s efforts to ensure that all programs are at par with international peers, evidenced by the ASEAN University Network Quality Assurance certification enjoyed by the BS Pharmacy, BS Medical Technology, and BS Biochemistry programs.

With 15,000 individual members and 83 regional and local chapters, the PPHA is the only pharmacists organization accredited by the Professional Regulation Commission. It has ten affiliate organizations and has partnered with local and international organizations for the benefit of its members.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter