UST hosts PAASE symposium

The University of Santo Tomas hosted the 42nd Annual Philippine-American Academy of Science and Engineering (PAASE) Meeting and Symposium (APAMS) from October 11 to 14, 2022, via Zoom.
The theme for this year was “Engaging Next Generation Science and Engineering”.

The four-day event strengthened the continuing interaction between Filipino and Filipino-American scientists and engineers at various stages of their research careers. Academic researchers, graduate and undergraduate students of science and engineering programs of Philippine and foreign-based institutions, presented their research findings through plenary lectures, research posters, and parallel lecture sessions organized into 15 research expertise clusters (RECs).

Among this year’s plenary speakers were National Scientist Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, S.J., a renowned mathematician and former President of the Ateneo de Manila University; Ms. Victoria Tauli-Corpuz of the Indigenous Peoples’ International Center for Policy Research and Education; and Thomasian alumni including Prof. Edralin Lucas, Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University), Prof. Pedro Jose, M.D., Ph.D. (George Washington University), and Carmela Centeno, Ph.D. (United Nations Industrial Development Organization based in Vienna, Austria).

These alumni were joined by Prof. Grecebio Jonathan Alejandro, Dr.rer.nat. (Director of the Office for Graduate Research of the Graduate School and a Professor at the College of Science and the Graduate School), who also delivered one of the plenary lectures. Other notable Thomasian lecturers included College of Science alumnus Dr. Warren Vidar of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Asst. Prof. Karen Katrina Trinidad, Ph.D., (Chair of the UST Department of Psychology) who delivered lectures in their respective RECs.
PAASE also presented the winners of the Severino and Paz Koh Lectureship Award, namely, Dr. Rosalia C.M. Simmen and Dr. Elmer P. Dadios.

PAASE likewise recognized the best poster papers submitted for this year’s conference. The winners are Cristel Joyce Mallari of the Pampanga State Agricultural University (1st Place), Janelle Anne C. Gonzales of the Philippine Textile Research Institute (2nd Place) and Hidenori Tomimatsu of the University of Santo Tomas (3rd Place).

The 42nd iteration of the annual meeting of PAASE was made possible by the collaboration between the PAASE Board of Directors led by its president, Dr. Mariano Sto. Domingo of the University of Maryland in Baltimore County and the local organizing committee led by Academician Prof. Emeritus Fortunato Sevilla III, Ph.D. of the University of Santo Tomas.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter