Two Thomasian PRC Outstanding Professionals of 2021: Former Eng’g dean, Biotech CEO receive award

The immediate past dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Chemical Engineer Philipina A. Marcelo, Ph.D., and Asst. Prof. Roberto Manaois, DBA, from the Faculty of Pharmacy, were named Outstanding Professionals of the Year by the Professional Regulation Commission for 2021. The awards were presented on November 15, 2021, through a livestream at the PRC’s Facebook page.

Marcelo was hailed the 2021 Outstanding Professional in Chemical Engineering. Having served as dean of the Faculty of Engineering for nine years, Marcelo led the charge in ensuring the local and international accreditation of all six engineering programs. Under the Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges, and Universities (PAASCU), these programs are on Level 3.

In the international accreditation scene, Marcelo successfully worked on the accreditation of the programs of the Faculty of Engineering through the Philippine Technological Council, the country’s provisional member of the Washington Accord. Earlier, Engineering was able to hurdle the Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology (ABET).

Marcelo is a two-time recipient of a Fulbright scholarship grant, the second of which is the reason why she is currently on leave from the University where she has to fulfill the requirements of her scholarship grant in the United States.

Manaois was named Outstanding Professional in Medical Technology for 2021. He currently serves as president and Chief Executive Officer of Scientific Biotech Specialties, Inc., (SBSI). For over 25 years, he has consistently shared his expertise through the different chapters of the Philippine Association of Medical Technologists (PAMET). His team pioneered the development of Microbiology in clinical laboratories by introducing the bioMerieux Vitek system nationwide. Most recently, he became the chair for Professional Development Committee of PAMET.

Faculty members Marcelo and Manaois now join the University’s roster of Outstanding Professional of the Year Award recipients, such as Academician Dr. Maribel G. Nonato (2020, Chemistry), Dr. Eduardo Ong (2020, Real Estate Service), Dr. Donald G. Manlapaz (2020, Physical Therapy), Dr. Aleth Therese L. Dacanay (2018, Pharmacy), Dr. Donald Lipardo (2015, Physical Therapy), Dr. Rosalinda Solevilla (2011, Pharmacy), Dr. Priscilla Torres (2009, Pharmacy), Dr. Cheryl R. Peralta (2009, Physical Therapy), Assoc. Prof. Jocelyn Agcaoili (2007, Physical Therapy), and Dr. Fortunato Sevilla (2002, Chemistry).

The “Outstanding Professional of the Year Award” is the highest award bestowed by the PRC upon a professional.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter