Varsitarian celebrates 33rd Gawad USTetika, Abrigo bags the Rector’s Literary Award

Last March 10, 2018, the Varsitarian awarded the winning works of students on the 33rd Gawad USTetika, the longest running campus literary derby, at the Dr. George SK Ty Function Hall, Buenaventura G. Paredes, O.P. Building.

AB Literature senior Arielle Abrigo’s poetry collection titled LAKASA received the Rector’s Literary Award.

Parangal Hagbong
Moreover, Msgr. Rodolfo Villanueva and Dr. Emerita Quito (posthumous) were honored with the lifetime award Parangal Hagbong.

Made of cast ivory and molave, the plaque of Parangal Hagbong is bestowed upon outstanding Thomasian Writers, in recognition of their valuable contribution to Philippine Literature.

Quito held a bachelor’s degree in philosophy in UST; she was also the assistant editor of magazine UNITAS and the chair of philosophy department in the Graduate School in the late 60s.

Villanueva, with the nom de plume Renato Madrid, bagged several awards including the Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards in Literature and National Book Awards.

He took his Masters in English in UST. He was the author of Devil Wings, Mass for the Death of an Enemy, and Southern Harvest.

Here is the complete list of the winners:

1st Place – LAKASA (Arielle Abrigo)
2nd Place – sounds of silence (Kyle Magistrado)
3rd Place – smallness and other reductionisms (Neal Andreu Tayco) and some days i feel like a middle-aged deadbeat dad named frankie (Ma. Doreen Garcia )

1st Place – Prosopagnosia (Leanne Belen)
2nd Place – Infected (George Deoso)
3rd Place – The Quiet World (Maria Tanya Cruz)
Honorable Mention –

1st Place –
2nd Place –
3rd Place – In Transit (Marianne Nono)
Honorable Mention -Big and Small Dimensions (Leanne Belen)

1st Place -Patay na ang Siwata: Mga Tula (George Deoso )
2nd Place -Tala sa Umaga (Joshua Iringan)
3rd Place – Mga Mahal na Araw (Joshua Dela Peña )
Honorable Mention-

1st Place -Tatlong Kuwento (Edrich Samonte)
2nd Place – Procesion del Santo Entierro (Joshua John Dela Peña)
3rd Place -Genesis 3:19 (Benjamin Gutierrez)
Honorable Mention – Ang Pampagana (Andrea Albana)

1st Place –
2nd Place –
3rd Place – Alas Nwebe Anwebe (Christian Mendoza)
Honorable Mention –

1st Place – Isang Sandali sa Colegio de La Concordia (Lloyd Alcedric Opalec)
2nd Place -Armstice (Ma. Doreen Garcia)
3rd Place -Ladies’ Night (Marianne Nono)
Honorable Mention – Bahay bahayan (Jhudiel Sosa)

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter