UST pays tribute to outstanding medical alumni at Thomasian Doctors’ Recognition Night

The University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Medicine and Surgery (UST-FMS) recognized its notable Thomasian medical alumni during the Thomasian Doctors’ Recognition Night, held on September 28, 2018 at the Dr. Robert C. Sy Grand Ballroom of the UST Buenaventura G. Paredes Building.

This tribute is part of the preparations of the UST FMS for its sesquicentennial (150th) founding anniversary in 2021. One hundred fifty FMS alumni were recognized for their achievements in the fields of education, research, government service, medical societies, industry, and in public and private health sectors.

The UST Faculty of Medicine and Surgery is the oldest Catholic medical school in the Philippines and remains one of the leading medical schools in the country. It is a Center of Excellence that contributes more than 400 new physicians annually and consistently produces medical board topnotchers. According to FMS Dean Ma. Lourdes D. Maglinao, M.D., MHPEd, the Faculty “is proud of not only the legacy it has left behind, but the legacy it continues to embed daily in every Thomasian medical learner, whom it taught, teaches, and will teach in the years to come.”

UST FMS has produced alumni who are renowned and respected in the field of Medicine here and abroad, such as Secretary of Health Francisco Duque III, M.D., and Belo Medical Group Director Victoria G. Belo, M.D.

Among those awarded were: former Senator and First Lady of the Philippines Hon. Luisa P. Ejercito M.D., of Class 1954; Ospital ng Makati Director Vergel P. Binay, M.D. (Class 1997); St. Luke’s Medical Center Quasha Memorial College of Medicine Legal Medicine Department Chair Atty. Antonio Alejandro D. Rebosa, M.D., (Class 1985); Chinese General Hospital College of Medicine Dean Normando C. Gonzaga, M.D. (Class 1976); American College of Surgeons – Philippine Chapter President Ray. B. Malilay, M.D. (Class 1980); The Medical City Augusto P. Sarmiento Cancer Institute Director Daniel M. Alonzo, M.D. (Class 1982); St. Luke’s Medical Center Medical Director Benjamin S. A. Campomanes, Jr., M.D., (Class 1985); Makati Medical Center Director Johnny B. Sinon, M.D. (Class 1982); and Chinese General Hospital and Medical Center Director Modesto O. Llamas, M.D. (Class 1965).

UST Secretary-General Rev. Fr. Jesús M. Miranda, Jr., O.P., in his opening remarks commended the awardees for embodying the Thomasian values of competence, commitment, and compassion in their practice as physicians, saying “You are the living witnesses to the University’s mission of serving the Church, the nation, and the global community.”

The Anargyroi: FMS Foundation, Inc. was introduced by Class 1967 alumnus Willie N. Lagdameo, M.D., a member of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees. The Foundation supports the UST FMS by sustaining and aiding in its initiatives through the Regent’s Scholarship, community outreach, simulation center, research, student and faculty development programs.

Two-time Luciano Pavarotti Choir of the World awardee UST Singers performed, too, while at the onset of the program, the UST String Quartet also entertained the guests.

FMS Regent Rev. Fr. Angel A. Aparicio, O.P., in his closing remarks, expressed his joy in the reconnection of the alumni gathered, inviting them to “please show support to [FMS’] endeavors, join us in counting down [to the 150th anniversary celebration], and keep in touch.”

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter