UST hosts PAES board meeting

The University of Santo Tomas (UST), through the Faculty of Engineering, hosted the Board Meeting of the Philippine Association of Engineering Schools (PAES), Inc. on 30 June 2016 at the Rector’s Hall. The UST’s official representative to PAES, Prof. Philipina A. Marcelo, Ph.D., Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and the current 1st Vice-President of PAES, led the Faculty in hosting the Meeting on behalf of UST. The PAES Board of Directors was led by their President, Prof. Bonifacio T. Doma, Jr., Ph.D., Executive Vice-President for Academic Affairs of the Mapua Institute of Technology.

On top of the Board Meeting’s agenda was the preparation for the 2nd International Conference on Engineering Education – Philippines (ICEE-Phil 2016) with the theme, “Internationalization and Innovation: Towards World-Class Engineering Education”, which will be held on 27-28 October 2016 at the University of Mindanao in Davao, City. Dean Marcelo serves as the ICEE-Phil 2016 Conference Chair. This will be held in conjunction with the PAES General Membership Meeting (GMM), which is held annually. The first ICEE-Phil Conference was held at the Dr. Robert C. Sy Grand Ballroom of the Blessed Buenaventura, O. P., Building of UST in October 2015. Some 200 Engineering educators and stakeholders from six countries in three continents came to UST to participate in the Conference. The UST Faculty of Engineering served as host of the GMM in the same occasion.

PAES, formerly known as the Philippine Association on Technological Education (PATE), Inc., is an association of Higher Education Institutions (HEI) in the Philippines offering Engineering Programs. Presently, it has 137 member schools all over the Philippines. Its main objective is to ensure the high quality of engineering education in the Philippines through sharing of best practices among member schools and partner foreign HEIs, holding faculty development activities, and actively engaging engineering faculty members and students in research and innovation as well as extension services.

The officers and members of the Board of Directors who were in attendance in the Board Meeting were the Secretary, Dean Evelyn Q. Raguindin (Adamson University), Vice-President for Luzon, Dean Cynthia L. Posadas, Ph. D. (St. Louis University), Vice-President for Mindanao, Dean Charlito L. Canesares, Directors for Luzon, Dean Melito A. Baccay, Ph. D. (Technological University of the Philippines), Dean Jonathan R. Dungca, Ph. D. (De La Salle University) and Dean Carla P. Falconit (National University). Also in attendance was the PAES officer-in-charge of Communication, Dean Aloysius C. Mapalo (University of the Cordilleras).

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter