UST CCWLS holds 2018 Nat’l Writers Workshop

Last March 18-25, 2018, the UST Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies held its annual National Writers’ Workshop at the Ridgewood Residences, Baguio City.

The 15 selected fellows were: Paul Cyrian M. Baltazar (katha; DLS-College of St. Benilde), Jose Socrates S. Delos Reyes (tula; AdMU), Kristine Inez Q. Estioko (CNF; AdMU), Bayani M. Gabriel (sanaysay; Tarlac State University), Hans Lawrence V. Malgapu (poetry; UST, UST Social Media Bureau), Angelito G. Nambatac, Jr. (dula; MSU-IIT), Arianne Patricia Onte (fiction; UPLB), Karl Ivan Dan V. Orit (fiction; UST), Riddick Matthew P. Recoter (CNF; DLSU), Keanu Harold G. Reyes (katha; Bulacan State University), Kristinne Nigel C. Santos (screenplay; UST, UP), Manuel Tinio (dula; DLSU), Edmark T. Tan (poetry; UST, DLSU), Maria Gliceria L. Valdez (CNF; UP Mindanao, University of Southeastern Philippines), and Vincen Gregory Yu (poetry; UP Manila).

“[The Center] functions as an academy of letters dedicated to the reaffirmation of the University’s important role in the nation’s literary history, through the creation of a culture of literary excellence within Thomasian community and for the cultivation of an awareness of University’s literary tradition,” UST CCWLS Assistant Director Asst. Prof. Ralph Semino Galan said.

This year’s special guest panelists were: Gemino H. Abad, R. Zamora Linmark, and Jerry B. Gracio. The workshop director was Assoc. Prof. John Jack G. Wigley and the workshop coordinator was Mr. Benedict Parfan.

CCWLS Outreach program
Incon junction with the Center’s role in cultivating awareness in literature, the resident fellows lectured at the Benguet State University. Mr. Chuckbery Pascual, PhD, lectured on the topic of pop culture; Assoc. Prof. Augusto Aguila, PhD, lectured on the history of love teams; Asst. Prof Galan lectured on Latin American Literature; and Joselito Delos Reyes, PhD, lectured on social media.

The panelists from the UST CCWLS awere Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, director, Ralph Semino Galán, deputy director, and resident fellows Augusto Antonio A. Aguila, PhD, Nestor Cuartero, Joselito D. Delos Reyes, PhD, Dawn Laurente Marfil, Chuckberry J. Pascual, PhD, and Joselito B. Zulueta.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter