#TeamKomunidad of RCSSEd, CTHM presents DOST NRCP Policy Research proposals

#TeamKomunidad, a project team composed of academic researchers from the Research Center for Social Sciences and Education (RCSSEd) – Tourism Studies RIG, College of Tourism and Hospitality Management (CTHM) and UST Sentro Turismo, presented their Policy Research entitled “Sustainable Community-based Tourism Potential and Development of Barangay San Miguel, Echague, Isabela in the New/Next Normal” on June 7, 2023 at the House of Representatives, Quezon City, as part of the National Research Council of the Philippines’s Research Forum and Agenda Setting for Policy Development.

The project aimed to assess the potential and development of the Barangay and its related stakeholders on sustainable community-based tourism. It was funded by the Department of Science and Technology – National Research Council of the Philippines (DOST NRCP) through the initiative of the House of Representatives Office of Hon. Faustino “Inno” A. Dy V of the 6th District of Isabela.

During the Policy Forum, Congressman Inno Dy V, who is also the Chair of the House Committee on Bases Conversion, shared the significance of sustainable tourism development to uplift the way of life of the local community and their related stakeholders in the municipality and even through its district and nearby provinces. The plan will provide them with a strategic and evidence-based approach to mechanizing their programs and projects for tourism development and resource conservation. 

After the research forum, Congressman Inno graced a ceremonial signing of the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the University of Santo Tomas and the Municipal Government of Echague, Isabela. The MOA signified the strong relationship between the two parties, specifically on implementing the DOST NRCP Policy Funded Research Project. LGU Echague was represented by Hon. Francis Faustino “Kiko” A. Dy (Municipal Mayor), Hon. Allan P. Tupong, MD (Municipal Vice Mayor), the Members of the Sanggunian Bayan, and Mr. Louie C. Simbe (Municipal Tourism, Culture and Arts Officer).

#TeamKomunidad is headed by Inst. Jame Monren T. Mercado, MACHS of RCSSEd, CTHM, and UST Sentro Turismo. He was joined by the project team members, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Atty. Gezzez Giezi G. Granado (Dean), Assoc. Prof. Dr. Evangeline E. Timbang (Assistant Dean), Asst. Prof. Maria Concepcion A. Ang, Dr. Avi Ben P. Andalecio, and Dr. Fhamela F. Sarmiento. They were assisted by Inst. Danilo P. Bustillos II (Department of Hospitality Management) and Ms. Andrea Nicole D. Hernandez (CTHM Alumna Batch 2019).

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter