Five Science programs granted Level IV re-accreditation status by PACUCOA

Five programs from the College of Science were officially
re-accredited at the highest level by the Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities Commission on Accreditation (PACUCOA) through the Federation of Accrediting Agencies of the Philippines (FAAP) as the certifying body.

Re-accredited for Level IV status were: Mathematics major in Actuarial
Science, Biology, Chemistry, Microbiology and Psychology. According to College of Science Secretary Assoc. Prof. Mary C. Martin, upon receipt of this re-accredited status from PACUCOA in 2017, the five programs were then endorsed to FAAP, the umbrella organization of accreditation agencies, for official certification as Level IV. The status covers the period of November 2016 to November 2021.

Successfully joining a world-renowned educative brand in its mission to
elevate ideas worth spreading, the University of Santo Tomas held TEDxUST
on March 10, 2018 at the Central Lab Auditorium, University of Santo Tomas.

“TEDxUST” is an independentlyorganized conference licensed from popular non-profit media organization TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design)
and was spearheaded by the University of Santo Tomas Central Student Council (UST-CSC), in coordination with the UST Medical Technology Society and the Office of Public Affairs.

With the Level IV status of a program comes full autonomy, which enables school administrators to offer new graduate programs and open learning or distance education and extension classes related to existing Level IV courses, without prior approval of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED).

A program may only apply for a Level IV accreditation only after
five years of Level III re-accredited status. In the accreditation process, the
programs were evaluated according to sets of criteria and procedures, which encourage high maintenance of standards and education. The resulting certifications granted by the accrediting agency and the certifying body, recognizes that the programs meet the criteria set by PACUCOA
and are comparable to similar programs in excellent foreign universities.

The University currently has 26 FAAP and PACUCOAaccredited Level IV programs and a total of 47 accredited programs.

The FAAP is the CHEDauthorized network of accrediting agencies within the country that can certify accreditation levels of academic programs
so as to grant benefits such as progressive deregulation, while its affiliate member PACUCOA is a private accrediting agency which gives formal recognition to an educational institution by attesting that its academic program maintains excellent standards in its educational
operations, in the context of its aims and objectives.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter