Five Engineering programs receive full accreditation from Philippine Technological Council

Five undergraduate programs of the Faculty of Engineering received full accreditation from the Philippine Technological Council last October 10, 2017 (Wednesday). Recognized were the BSc Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics Engineering, Industrial Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering programs, which will all enjoy full accreditation until 2021.

All Engineering programs—the sixth being Chemical Engineering—received accreditation from PTC in 2015, with Chemical Engineering receiving the full six-year recognition, and the other five receiving provision two-year recognitions. The decision to grant full accreditation to the five programs was reached by the Philippine Technological Council following the interim visit conducted in March 2017.

The challenge of lifelong learning
In her speech, Faculty of Engineering Dean Philipina A. Marcelo, PhD recognized that with the fast pace of technological advancement, academic programs—which take four to five years—must not just prepare students for the jobs that were foreseen upon their entry, but also for lifelong learning. This is due to the fact that upon their graduation, what was initially thought of as a set of required skills may already be lacking or misaligned with what the industry will need by then.

This was seconded by Prof. Cheryl R. Peralta, DrPH, UST’s Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, who said that “With the fourth industrial revolution, we recognize that what we teach this year may no longer be relevant next year, and we will have to continue evaluating the way we do things in order for us to keep on improving what we are doing.”

Peralta said that contrary to how others dread the ongoing transition as “the worst time to be an [educational] administrator,” it is actually the “best time to be in the academe” because the transition allows for change—the opportunity to finally do away with old, obsolete practices and embrace new realities.

The awarding ceremonies brought together University officials, Faculty of Engineering administrators and faculty members, and PTC officials, namely, Engr. Federico Monsada (President), Dr. Lydia Tansinsin (President of ACBET); Engr. Mel Dennis Ferrer (Deputy Executive Director of PTC); and Ms. Robel Ampuan (PTC).

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter