Faculty members, students win awards in 39th Annual Scientific Meeting of NAST

During the July 12-13, 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting of the National Academy of Science and Technology, Thomasians were recognized for their outstanding research work.

Winning the Best Poster in the Engineering Sciences and Technology Division were:

Felicidad Christina Ramirez, Prof. Christina A. Binag, PhD, Ms. Stephanie Chua, MSc, and David Joseph Alzate. Ramirez and Binag are from the College of Science, while Chua and Alzate are from the Faculty of Pharmacy and Graduate School, respectively.

Winning a Special Citation in the Outstanding Book Awards were Vice-Rector for Research and Innovation Maribel G. Nonato, PhD, and Prof. Ma. Minerva P. Calimag, MD, PhD, who were co-authors in the “Encyclopedia of Common Medicinal Plants of the Philippines, Volume 1.” Nonato and Calimag joined the following authors: Dr. Domingo A. Madulid, Dr. Esperanza Maribel G. Agoo, Dr. Isidro C. Sia, Dr. Myrna L. Abello, Dr. Rita Grace Y. Alvero, Dr. Anne Josephine C. Quitain, Dr. Irene M. Villasenor, Dr. Rene Angelo S. Machig, and Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit. They represented the Philippine Institute for Traditional and Alternative Health Care.

Finally, Mr. Jonathan Carlo A. Briones, PhD of the Department of Biological Sciences of the College of Science won first place in the 2017 NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter