CTHM academic staff, students bring home research awards from PARTH

CTHM academic staff and students joined the 8th Tourism and Hospitality Annual Research Convention (THARC) and the 9th Annual Tourism and Hospitality Student Research Conference (ATHSRC) 2023, organized by the Philippine Association of Researchers for Tourism and Hospitality, Inc. (PARTH). It was held from April 19 to 21, 2023.

Out of 33 manuscripts from faculty and graduate students, Ms. Lizette A. Vicente, academic staff from the Department of Tourism Management and a candidate for Ph.D. in Human Resource Management of the Graduate School, won Best Paper for her research titled “Perspective of Laid off Employees toward Retrenchment and Outplacement Programs of Selected Airline Companies in the Philippines: An Outplacement Framework Proposal.”
The research aimed to determine the importance of retrenchment and outplacement programs to the voluntary and involuntary laid off employees of two airlines. The study showed that a retrenchment package, employee assistance, financial assistance, and psychological assistance are essential in the termination of employment. The research’s contribution to the existing literature provides a methodology for integrating specific outplacement programs as part of the human resource programs of the organization. Accordingly, the implementation of the proposed outplacement framework can assist the organization on how to better manage the laid off employees affected by the crisis and incorporate it as part of the organization’s development.
Participating students from the Department of Tourism Management won the Best Paper and Best Oral Presentation for their research titled “A Triangulation Approach on the Ecotourism Potential of Sibuyan Island, Romblon as an Extractive Host Site: Basis for Public Policy Development.” The student researchers are Mari Stella M. Duque, Grace L. Villamiel, Kelie R. Oshiro, Jan Nikka L. Uy, Patricia Margareth G. To, Rizza Cailey Alvarez, and Raymond Albert V. Morfe. Their research adviser and co-author are Dr. Avi Ben P. Andalecio (academic staff from the Department of Tourism Management and Academic Researcher from the Research Center for Social Sciences and Education) and Mr. Jerome C. Madrona, the Municipal Tourism Officer of the Municipal Government of San Fernando, Romblon.
The study assessed the ecotourism potential of Sibuyan as a host site for extractive industries. The research is in partnership with the Municipal Government of San Fernando, Romblon, and the UST Simbahayan Community Development Office. The paper concluded that ecotourism in Sibuyan Island has great potential in response to the emergence of extractive industries, should the community and concerned local government units implement ecotourism through public policy development. Ecotourism provides long-term benefits for the community, imposing optimal utilization of resources, valuable collaboration between stakeholders, and the overall betterment of the quality of life for the local community. The Sibuyan Island Public Policy Framework for Sustainable Ecotourism Development was conceptualized as the output of this study, which may guide tourism stakeholders in Sibuyan Island toward strategic directions that maximize ecotourism to achieve sustainable development.
Aside from the winning teams, other collaborative research papers were also presented during the conference. Academic staff and CTHM administrators presented their paper titled “Behind the Community Lenses: Community-based Tourism Potentials of Barangay San Miguel, Echague, Isabela using the Extended Parameters of Sustainable Tourism Development.” The paper is a collaborative effort among CTHM academic staff members Dr. Avi Ben P. Andalecio, Mr. Jame Monren T. Mercado, Dr. Fhamela F. Sarmiento, and Asst. Prof. Maria Concepcion A. Ang, as well as CTHM administrators Assistant Dean Assoc. Prof. Evangeline E. Timbang, Ph.D., and CTHM Dean Atty. Gezzez Giezi G. Granado, DCL.
Selene B. Abad, Mariam Nicole S. Calaca, Paolo Glenn R. Mendoza, Beatrice Fay G. Pascua, Twyla Justine A. Tamondong, and Gabrielle Marie Yap, together with their research adviser Ms. Ramona Olga D. Ko, presented the paper “Gap Analysis: An Assessment of Employers’ Perception of UST – CTHM’s Online Graduates’ Competency.”
Nona Richie O. Cantos, Kyle Malord V. Dayao, Ann Margarette B. Juanitas, Ericson P. Ocampo, Sharmaine Andrea T. Ritumalta, Maria Martina Pauline A. Versoza, and Gabriel L. Vitug, together with their research adviser Mr. Jame Monren T. Mercado, presented the study titled “Paham: Manifest Content Analysis on the Common Values of Tourism and Hospitality Management Learners through the Lens of the Industry: A Case of a Philippine University.”
CTHM Regent Rev. F. Roland D. Mactal, O.P., S.Th.D., and academic staff Mr. Jame Monren T. Mercado presented the paper “Santuario (Shrines): The Sustainable Religious Tourism Management of Selected Philippine Congregation-managed Marian Shrines.” Student researchers for this paper include Janine Patricia P. Chuajap, Rizyl May C. Diamante, Angela Gabrielle S. Donguez, Francesca D. Metrillo, Chrisalyn O. Miralles, and Renz Vincent C. Quicio.
Co-hosted with Miriam College, PARTH is a tourism and hospitality professional organization geared towards its advocacy of uplifting and developing research awareness and competencies of its members in the field.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter