14 UST students make it to 2018 CCWLS Undergrad Writers’ Workshop

Fourteen students from five colleges were selected as writing fellows in the 2018 Tigers Creative Writing Workshop. Conducted by the UST Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies (UST CCWLS) from June 6 to 8, 2018, the workshop was held at the Rizal Hall of St. Raymund’s Building, UST. This yearly workshop has been established exclusively for Thomasian undergraduate writers and is now the 5th in the series since its launch in 2014.

It is designed to meet the needs of the campus creative writers from the various faculties and colleges of the University. The fellows were: Kisha Aleena Abuda, Matthew Dominic Dimapawi, Maria Antoinette Malicse, Cindel Ong, Jhudiel Clare D. Sosa, and Miguel Sta. Maria of the Faculty of Arts and Letters; Kristine Gemora, Pauline Mae Lim, and Shamaiah Nina Tangpuz of the College of Education; Karl Ben Arlegui, Joshua John Dela Peña, and Nashrene Franczelle Gacutan of the AMV-College of Accountancy;
Kyle Irvin Francisco of the College of Commerce; and Rianna Aguilar of the College of Rehabilitation Sciences.

Palanca Award winner Prof. Francis Tanglao Aguas sat as a guest panelist and special lecturer on Playwriting. He is a professor of world theatre and Asian and Pacific Islander American Studies at the College of William & Mary, the second oldest institution of higher learning in the United States after Harvard University.

The two other special lecturers were UST CCWLS Director Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo on Fiction and Creative Nonfiction

and newly named UST CCWLS Resident
Fellow Paul Alcoseba Castillo on Poetry.

The other panel members were CCWLS Assistant Director Ralph Semino
Galán, and UST Resident Fellows Augusto Antonio Aguila, Ph.D., Ma. Ailil B. Alvarez Joselito D. Delos Reyes, Ph.D., Jose Mojica, and John Jack G. Wigley, Ph.D. Workshop Coordinators were Asst. Prof. Chuckberry Pascual, Ph.D., and Asst. Prof. Dawn Marfil.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter