The three new Honorary Professors were recommended by the College of Science, which is celebrating its 90th year starting on February 27.

Cordell in a natural product chemist who has authored close to 600 research publications, book chapters, comprehensive reviews, and professional publications, apart from books and volumes. He contributed to UST’s continuing professional development in the field of natural products chemistry on Drug Discovery and Development from 1992-2010. He has likewise served as a member of the International Advisory Committee of Acta Manilana, the official research journal of the Research Center for the Natural and Applied Sciences.

Okamoto pionereed the work on retroviral involvement in human autoimmunity. In 2004, he was recognized for his work on the regulation of NF kappa B, which plays major roles in carcinogenesis and cancer metastasis. Okamoto’s ties with UST began in the late 1980s through collaborations on biomedical researches. He has been instrumental in the acquisition of higher degrees of Thomasian scientists, and in the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding between UST and the Nagoya City University.

Finally, Holdsworth is a senior lecturer of physics in the University of Newcastle, Australia. As a respected academic, he has published a total of 28 articles and received 28 research grants. He played a significant role in the development of the BS Applied Physics major in Instrumentation program, which was first offered in 2002. He likewise taught General Physics in UST for one term, in 1999. He has since retained his ties with UST, delivering several lectures and guiding research interns who visit the University of Newcastle.

This new batch of Honorary Professors joins UST’s present 13-member cohort, which includes former Malaysia Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, former President of Poland H.E. Lech Walesa, and Nobel Laureate Mario Vargas Llosa.

Following the conferment ceremonies, Profs. Okamoto and Holdsworth will deliver their Addresses of Thanks, while Prof. Cordell will deliver the Professorial Lecture.